Saturday, April 4, 2020

Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures (1979)

Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures (1979)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Side one
1. "Disorder" 3:36
2. "Day of the Lords" 4:48
3. "Candidate" 3:05
4. "Insight" 4:30
5. "New Dawn Fades" 4:48

Side two
6. "She's Lost Control" 3:56
7. "Shadowplay" 3:54
8. "Wilderness" 2:38
9. "Interzone" 2:16
10. "I Remember Nothing" 5:53

Total length: 39:28

2007 CD remaster bonus disc (live at the Factory, Manchester, 11 April 1980)

1. "Dead Souls" 4:25
2. "The Only Mistake" 4:12
3. "Insight" 3:52
4. "Candidate" 2:08
5. "Wilderness" 2:32
6. "She's Lost Control" 3:47
7. "Shadowplay" 3:35
8. "Disorder" 3:29
9. "Interzone" 2:05
10. "Atrocity Exhibition" 6:14
11. "Novelty" 4:28
12. "Transmission" 3:50

Total length: 44:37

Unknown Pleasures is the debut studio album by English rock band Joy Division, released on 15 June 1979 by Factory Records. The album was recorded and mixed over three successive weekends at Stockport's Strawberry Studios in April 1979, and was produced by Martin Hannett, who incorporated a number of unconventional production techniques into the group's sound. The cover artwork was designed by artist Peter Saville, using a data plot of signals from a radio pulsar. It is the only Joy Division album released during lead singer Ian Curtis's lifetime.

Factory Records did not release any singles from Unknown Pleasures, and the album did not chart despite the relative success of the group's non-album debut single "Transmission". It has since received sustained critical acclaim as an influential post-punk album, and has been named as one of the best albums of all time by publications such as NME, AllMusic, Select, Rolling Stone, and Spin.

Joy Division were an English rock band formed in Salford in 1976. The group consisted of vocalist Ian Curtis, guitarist/keyboardist Bernard Sumner, bassist Peter Hook and drummer Stephen Morris.

Sumner and Hook formed the band after attending a Sex Pistols concert. While Joy Division's first recordings were heavily influenced by early punk, they soon developed a sparse sound and style that made them one of the pioneers of the post-punk movement. Their self-released 1978 debut EP An Ideal for Living drew the attention of the Manchester television personality Tony Wilson, who signed them to his independent label Factory Records. Their debut album Unknown Pleasures, recorded with producer Martin Hannett, was released in 1979.

Curtis suffered from personal problems and health conditions, including a failing marriage, depression, and epilepsy. As the band's popularity grew, Curtis's condition made it increasingly difficult for him to perform; he occasionally experienced seizures on stage. He died by suicide on the eve of the band's first US/Canada tour in May 1980, aged 23. Joy Division's second and final album, Closer, was released two months later; it and the single "Love Will Tear Us Apart" became their highest charting releases.

The remaining members regrouped under the name New Order. They were successful throughout the next decade, blending post-punk with electronic and dance music influences.

Joy Division Band Members / Musicians
Ian Curtis – lead vocals, guitar, melodica (1976–1980)
Bernard Sumner – lead guitar, keyboards, backing vocals, bass (1976–1980)
Peter Hook – bass, backing vocals, guitar (1976–1980)
Terry Mason – drums (1976–1977)
Tony Tabac – drums (1977)
Steve Brotherdale – drums (1977)
Stephen Morris – drums, percussion (1977–1980)

Joy Division Discography Full
1979 Unknown Pleasures
1980 Closer

Live albums
1999 Preston 28 February 1980
2001 Les Bains Douches 18 December 1979
2001 Fractured Box
2004 Re-fractured Box

Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Free Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

Download Free Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

Music Blogs


Blog Archive

Contact Form


Email *

Message *