Wednesday, May 26, 2021

Fairport Convention - Rosie (1973)

Fairport Convention - Rosie (1973)

Tracklist front / back album covers
Fairport Convention - Rosie

Side one

"Rosie" (Dave Swarbrick)

"Matthew, Mark, Luke & John" (Dave Pegg, Dave Swarbrick)

"Knights of the Road" (Trevor Lucas, Peter Roche)

"Peggy's Pub" (Dave Pegg)

"The Plainsman" (words: Peter Roche/music: Traditional, arranged by Trevor Lucas)

Side two
"Hungarian Rhapsody" (Dave Pegg)

"My Girl" (Dave Swarbrick)

"Me with You" (Dave Swarbrick)

"The Hens March Through the Midden & The Four Poster Bed" (Traditional, arranged by Fairport Convention)

"Furs and Feathers" (Dave Swarbrick)

Fairport Convention Band Members / Musicians

Dave Swarbrick: vocals, fiddle, viola, mandolin (4), acoustic guitar (7)

Trevor Lucas: vocals, 6 and 12-string acoustic guitars

Jerry Donahue: guitars, backing vocals

Dave Pegg: vocals, bass, mandolin (4)

Dave Mattacks: drums (4,9,10), percussion (8), piano (6)

Richard Thompson: electric and 12-string guitars ("Rosie")

Sandy Denny: backing vocals ("Rosie")

Linda Peters: backing vocals ("Rosie")

Gerry Conway: drums ("Rosie", "Knights of the Road", "The Plainsman")

Tim Donald: drums ("Matthew, Mark, Luke & John", "Hungarian Rhapsody", "My Girl") (born Timothy Donald, 29 September 1946, Bristol, Somerset)

Ralph McTell: acoustic guitar ("Me With You")

Rosie is a 1973 album by British folk rock band Fairport Convention, their 8th album since their debut in 1968.

The album was the first to include Australian singer-songwriter-guitarist Trevor Lucas and American lead guitarist Jerry Donahue. Both had previously played with ex-Fairport Sandy Denny, whom Lucas later married, in the short-lived Fotheringay. Here they had effectively replaced Simon Nicol who had quit Fairport to join another ex-member Ashley Hutchings in The Albion Band, thus leaving the band with no founding members until he rejoined in 1976.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *