Monday, November 8, 2021

New Riders of the Purple Sage - Powerglide (1972)

New Riders of the Purple Sage - Powerglide (1972)

Tracklist front / back album covers

"Dim Lights, Thick Smoke (And Loud, Loud Music)" (Joe Maphis, Max Fidler, Rose Lee Maphis) – 4:15

"Rainbow" (John Dawson) – 3:05

"California Day" (Dave Torbert) – 2:40

"Sweet Lovin' One" (Dawson) – 2:30

"Lochinvar" (Dawson) – 3:33

"I Don't Need No Doctor" (Nick Ashford, Valerie Simpson, Jo Armstead) – 4:47

"Contract" (Torbert) – 3:10

"Runnin' Back to You" (Dawson) – 4:12

"Hello Mary Lou" (Gene Pitney, Cayet Mangiaracina) – 2:58

"Duncan and Brady" (trad., arranged by John Koerner) – 5:23

"Willie and the Hand Jive" (Johnny Otis) – 6:50


New Riders of the Purple Sage Band Members / Musicians

John Dawson – acoustic and electric rhythm guitars, vocals, lead vocals on "Rainbow", "Sweet Lovin' One", "Lochinvar", "Runnin' Back to You", "Duncan and Brady"

David Nelson – lead guitar, vocals, mandolin on "Runnin' Back to You", lead vocal on "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke"

Dave Torbert – bass, vocals, electric rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar on "California Day" and "Hello Mary Lou", piano on "Duncan and Brady", lead vocals on "California Day", "I Don't Need No Doctor", "Contract", "Hello Mary Lou", and "Willie and the Hand Jive"

Buddy Cage – pedal steel guitar, dobro on "Lochinvar" and "Duncan and Brady"

Spencer Dryden – drums, percussion, broom, whistle, and whoopee on "Duncan and Brady"

Nicky Hopkins – piano on "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke", "California Day", "I Don't Need No Doctor", "Contract", "Runnin' Back to You", "Willie and the Hand Jive"

Jerry Garcia – banjo on "Sweet Lovin' One", "Duncan and Brady"; piano on "Lochinvar"

Billy Kreutzmann – percussion on "Duncan and Brady", "Willie and the Hand Jive"

Peoples chorus on "Duncan and Brady" – Nelson, McDuke, Buddy, Judy, Steve
Riderettes on "I Don't Need No Doctor" – our boys in drag

Producer – Steve Barncard and the New Riders
Engineer – John Fiore
Second engineer – George Beauregard
Mastering – Bob McCloud, Artisan Sound, Hollywood
Outside album design – Kelly and Mouse Studios
Inside artwork – Lore Shoberg

Powerglide is the 2nd album by the American band the New Riders of the Purple Sage. The music is a psychedelic hybrid of country rock, and includes guest musicians Jerry Garcia and Bill Kreutzmann from the Grateful Dead, along with noted session player Nicky Hopkins. The album contains six original tunes by the band, plus covers such as "I Don't Need No Doctor", "Hello Mary Lou", and "Willie and the Hand Jive".

Powerglide was the first New Riders album to feature Buddy Cage, who had replaced Garcia as the New Riders' pedal steel guitar player. It was the band's highest-charting album, reaching number 33 on the Billboard 200.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

For any problem contact here


Email *

Message *

Music Blogs