Tuesday, November 9, 2021

The Jam - In the City (1977)

The Jam - In the City (1977)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Side one

1. "Art School"   2:02

2. "I've Changed My Address"   3:31

3. "Slow Down" (Larry Williams)   2:39

4. "I Got By in Time"   2:07

5. "Away from the Numbers"   4:03

6. "Batman Theme" (Neal Hefti)   1:31

Side two

1. "In the City"   2:19

2. "Sounds from the Street"   3:14

3. "Non-Stop Dancing"   2:28

4. "Time for Truth"   3:10

5. "Takin' My Love"   2:15

6. "Bricks and Mortar"   2:37

Total length:   32:02

The Jam Band Members / Musicians

Paul Weller – vocals, guitar

Bruce Foxton – bass, vocals

Rick Buckler – drums

Vic Coppersmith-Heaven – production, engineering

Chris Parry – production

Allen Landau – mastering

Bill Smith – art direction, design

Martyn Goddard – front cover photography

Wade Wood Associates – artwork

In the City is the debut studio album by British mod revival band the Jam. Released in May 1977 by Polydor Records, the album reached No. 20 on the UK Albums Chart.

The album features the band's debut single and title track "In the City". In addition, the album includes two cover versions, "Slow Down" and the theme to the 1960s television series, Batman, the latter of which had also been previously covered by the Who, the Kinks and Link Wray.

The Jam were an English mod revival/punk rock band during the 1970s and early 1980s, which formed in 1972 at Sheerwater Secondary School in Woking, in the county of Surrey. The band released 18 consecutive Top 40 singles in the United Kingdom, from their debut in 1977 to their break-up in December 1982, including four number one hits. As of 2007, "That's Entertainment" and "Just Who Is the 5 O'Clock Hero?" remain the best-selling import singles of all time in the UK. They released one live album and six studio albums, the last of which, The Gift, hit number one on the UK Albums Chart. When the group disbanded in 1982, their first 15 singles were re-released and all placed within the top 100.

The Jam Band Members / Musicians

Paul Weller – vocals, lead guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, backing vocals

Rick Buckler – drums, percussion

Bruce Foxton – vocals, bass guitar, rhythm guitar, backing vocals

Steve Brookes – lead guitar (1972–1976)

Dave Waller – rhythm guitar (1972–1973)

Tracie Young – backing vocals on "Beat Surrender"

Jennie Matthias (The Belle Stars) duetted on vocals on "The Bitterest Pill (I Ever Had to Swallow)"

Peter Wilson – piano, drums, keyboards, Hammond organ

Steve Nichol – trumpet, Hammond organ

Luke Tunney – trumpet

Martin Drover – trumpet

Keith Thomas – saxophone, soprano sax

Afrodiziak – background vocals

Russell Henderson – steel drums

The Jam Discography Full 

Studio albums

In the City (1977)

This Is the Modern World (1977)

All Mod Cons (1978)

Setting Sons (1979)

Sound Affects (1980)

The Gift (1982)

From the Jam albums

Back in the Room (2012)

Smash the Clock (2015)

Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

For any problem contact here


Email *

Message *

Music Blogs