Friday, June 11, 2021

James Brown - Soul on Top (1970)

James Brown - Soul on Top (1970)

Tracklist front / back album covers

James Brown - Soul on Top

1. "That's My Desire"   4:10

2. "Your Cheatin' Heart"   2:59

3. "What Kind of Fool Am I?"   3:06

4. "It's a Man's, Man's, Man's World" (Unedited Version)   6:40

5. "The Man in the Glass"   5:56

6. "It's Magic"   3:14

7. "September Song" (Unedited Version)   5:02

8. "For Once in My Life" (Unedited Version)   4:43

9. "Every Day I Have the Blues" (Unedited Version)   4:28

10. "I Need Your Key (To Turn Me On)"   3:46

11. "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag"   4:41

12. "There Was a Time" (2004 reissue only)   3:04

James Brown Band Members / Musicians

James Brown - vocal

Oliver Nelson - arranger and conductor

Ernie Watts - alto saxophone

Joe Romano - alto saxophone

Maceo Parker - tenor saxophone

Buddy Collette - tenor saxophone

Pete Christlieb - tenor saxophone

Jim Mulidore - baritone saxophone

Al Aarons - trumpet

Chuck Findley - trumpet

John Audino - trumpet

Tom Porello - trumpet

Jimmy Cleveland - trombone

Nick DiMaio - trombone

Kenny Shroyer - trombone

Bill Tole - trombone

Frank Vincent - piano

Bill Pitman - guitar

Louis Shelton - guitar

Ray Brown - bass

Louis Bellson - drums, bandleader

Jack Arnold - percussion

Soul on Top is the 28th studio album by American musician James Brown. The album was released in April 1970, by King. Brown and saxophonist Maceo Parker worked with arranger/conductor Oliver Nelson to record a big band, funk and jazz vocal album. It was recorded with Louie Bellson and his 18-piece jazz orchestra at United Western Recorders in Hollywood, California in November 1969, and features jazz standards, show tunes, and middle of the road hits, as well as a new arrangement of Brown's funk hit "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag".

Album / Artist / Song Search

Contact us for any problem