Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Kenny Rogers and The First Edition - The First Edition (1967)

Kenny Rogers and The First Edition - The First Edition (1967)

Tracklist front / back album covers
download rar

"I Found a Reason" – 2:47
"Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)" (Mickey Newbury) – 3:20
"Shadow in the Corner of Your Mind" – 2:52
"If Wishes Were Horses" – 2:32
"Ticket to Nowhere" – 2:24
"I Get a Funny Feeling" – 3:49
"I Was the Loser" – 3:05
"Dream On" (Mike Post, Walt Meskell) – 2:45
"Home Made Lies" (Mike Settle, Terry Williams) – 2:20
"Marcia: 2 A.M." – 2:20
"Hurry up, Love" (Mike Post, Walt Meskell) – 2:35
"Church Without a Name" – 3:15

Kenny Rogers and The First Edition Band Members / Musicians

Mike Settle - rhythm guitar, vocals
Thelma Lou Camacho - vocals
Kenny Rogers - bass, vocals
Terry Williams - guitar, vocals
Mickey Jones - drums

Al Capps (tracks 3-6, 9, 12), Mike Post (tracks 1-2, 7-8, 10-11) - arrangements

Eddie Brackett, Michael Lietz - engineer
Ed Thrasher - art direction
Tony Esparza - photography

The First Edition is the debut studio album by the group The First Edition. Kenny Rogers sang the lead vocals on two tracks "Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)" and "Dream On". "Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)" became the only hit single from the album and marked the start of things to come, with Rogers soon becoming the lead singer of the group and the group being renamed "Kenny Rogers & The First Edition".

This album was re-issued as a 180 Gram Limited Edition by Golden Lane records in 2010 (as # CLP-LP-1822) While the cover art and back art is exactly the same as the original Reprise record, the record itself is poor quality, and the inner sleeve has the original Alcoa Aluminum sweepstakes ad, on one side, but on the reverse side it has an updated Biography of The First Edition written by Dave Thompson.

The producer of this album (and also the band's second and third albums), Mike Post gained later renown for the theme music for many TV dramas such as Hill Street Blues, Magnum, P.I., Law & Order and others.

Kenny Rogers and the First Edition, until 1969 billed as The First Edition, were an American rock band that fused rock and roll, R&B, folk, and country. Its core members were Kenny Rogers (lead vocals and bass guitar), Mickey Jones (drums and percussion) and Terry Williams (guitar and vocals). The band formed in 1967, with folk musician Mike Settle (guitar and backing vocals) and the operatically-trained Thelma Camacho (lead vocals) completing the lineup.

Kenny Rogers and The First Edition Discography Full

1967 The First Edition
1968 The First Edition's 2nd
1969 The First Edition '69
1969 Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town
1970 Something's Burning
1970 Tell It All Brother
1971 Fools (soundtrack)
1971 Greatest Hits
1971 Transition
1972 The Ballad of Calico
1972 Back Roads
1973 Rollin'
1973 Monumental
1974 I'm Not Making Music for Money (New Zealand Only)
2015 Live Vegas '72 (500 vinyl only)

Album / Artist / Song Search

Download Full Covers Pack Collection / 6322 Cover Files (jpg) / 2.09GB for 0,99€ via PayPal

Contact us for any problem

Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *