Thursday, October 21, 2021

The Groundhogs - Split (1971)

The Groundhogs - Split (1971)

Tracklist front / back album covers

"Split - Part One" - 4:25

"Split - Part Two" - 5:10

"Split - Part Three" - 4:25

"Split - Part Four" - 5:38

"Cherry Red" - 5:40

"A Year in the Life" - 3:07

"Junkman" - 4:52

"Groundhog" - 5:35

The Groundhogs Band Members / Musicians

Tony McPhee – guitars, vocals

Peter Cruikshank – bass guitar

Ken Pustelnik – drums

Martin Birch - engineer

Chris Richardson - sleeve design, photography

Split is a 1971 blues rock studio album recorded by UK blues-rock group The Groundhogs, originally released by Liberty Records in 1971 with catalogue number LBG 83401. It was reissued on CD reissue in 2003 by Liberty / EMI Records, with catalogue number 07243-584819-2-1. In September 2020 it was released on limited-edition red vinyl (as well as CD) from Fire Records, including a second disc containing a number of outtakes and new sleeve notes by Dave Henderson of Mojo Magazine.

According to Tony McPhee's sleeve notes for the 2003 CD reissue, the lyrics for Split were inspired by a panic attack he experienced in May 1970, and the studio version of "Cherry Red" was recorded live in a single take.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Download Full Covers Pack Collection / 6322 Cover Files (jpg) / 2.09GB for 0,99€ via PayPal

Contact us for any problem

Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *