Friday, June 18, 2021

Captain Beefheart - Lick My Decals Off, Baby (1970)

Captain Beefheart - Lick My Decals Off, Baby (1970)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Captain Beefheart - Lick My Decals Off, Baby

Side one

1. "Lick My Decals Off, Baby"   2:38

2. "Doctor Dark"   2:46

3. "I Love You, You Big Dummy"   2:54

4. "Peon" (instrumental)   2:24

5. "Bellerin' Plain"   3:35

6. "Woe-is-uh-Me-Bop"   2:06

7. "Japan in a Dishpan" (instrumental)   3:00

Side two

1. "I Wanna Find a Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have to Go"   1:53

2. "Petrified Forest"   1:40

3. "One Red Rose That I Mean" (instrumental)   1:52

4. "The Buggy Boogie Woogie"   2:19

5. "The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or the Big Dig)"   2:11

6. "Space-Age Couple"   2:32

7. "The Clouds Are Full of Wine (not Whiskey or Rye)"   2:50

8. "Flash Gordon's Ape"   4:15

Captain Beefheart Band Members / Musicians

Captain Beefheart – vocals, bass clarinet, tenor sax, soprano sax, harmonica

Zoot Horn Rollo – electric guitar and glass finger guitar

Rockette Morton – bassius-o-pheilius

Drumbo – percussion, broom

Grant Gibb – personal management

Peacock Ink – album concept

Don Van Vliet – back cover painting

Ed Thrasher – photography and art direction

Lick My Decals Off, Baby is the 4th studio album by American rock band Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band, released in December 1970 by Straight and Reprise Records. The follow-up to Trout Mask Replica (1969), it is regarded by some critics and listeners as superior, and was Van Vliet's favorite. Van Vliet said that the title was an encouragement to "get rid of the labels", and to evaluate things according to their merits rather than according to superficial labels (or "decals").

Album / Artist / Song Search

Contact us for any problem