Friday, June 18, 2021

Captain Beefheart - Trout Mask Replica (1969)

Captain Beefheart - Trout Mask Replica (1969)

Tracklist front / back album covers
Captain Beefheart - Trout Mask Replica

Side one
1. "Frownland"   1:41
2. "The Dust Blows Forward 'n the Dust Blows Back"   1:53
3. "Dachau Blues"   2:21
4. "Ella Guru"   2:26
5. "Hair Pie: Bake 1" (instrumental)   4:58
6. "Moonlight on Vermont"   3:59

Side two
1. "Pachuco Cadaver"   4:40
2. "Bill's Corpse"   1:48
3. "Sweet Sweet Bulbs"   2:21
4. "Neon Meate Dream of a Octafish"   2:25
5. "China Pig"   4:02
6. "My Human Gets Me Blues"   2:46
7. "Dali's Car" (instrumental)   1:26

Side three
1. "Hair Pie: Bake 2" (instrumental)   2:23
2. "Pena"   2:33
3. "Well"   2:07
4. "When Big Joan Sets Up"   5:18
5. "Fallin' Ditch"   2:08
6. "Sugar 'n Spikes"   2:30
7. "Ant Man Bee"   3:57

Side four
1. "Orange Claw Hammer"   3:34
2. "Wild Life"   3:09
3. "She's Too Much for My Mirror"   1:40
4. "Hobo Chang Ba"   2:02
5. "The Blimp (Mousetrapreplica)"   2:04
6. "Steal Softly thru Snow"   2:18
7. "Old Fart at Play"   1:51
8. "Veteran's Day Poppy"   4:31

Total length:   78:51

Captain Beefheart Band Members / Musicians

Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) – lead and backing vocals, spoken word, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet, musette, simran horn, hunting horn, jingle bells, producer (uncredited), engineer (uncredited)

Drumbo (John French) – drums, percussion, engineer (uncredited on the original release), arrangement (uncredited)

Antennae Jimmy Semens (Jeff Cotton) – guitar, "steel appendage guitar" (slide guitar using a metal slide), lead vocals on "Pena" and "The Blimp", "flesh horn" (vocal with hand cupped over mouth) on "Ella Guru", speaking voice on "Old Fart at Play"

Zoot Horn Rollo (Bill Harkleroad) – guitar, "glass finger guitar" (slide guitar using a glass slide), flute on "Hobo Chang Ba"

Rockette Morton (Mark Boston) – bass guitar, narration on "Dachau Blues" and "Fallin' Ditch"

The Mascara Snake (Victor Hayden) – bass clarinet, backing vocals on "Ella Guru", speaking voice on "Pena"

Doug Moon – acoustic guitar on "China Pig"

Gary "Magic" Marker – bass guitar on "Moonlight on Vermont" and "Veteran's Day Poppy" (uncredited)

Roy Estrada – bass guitar on "The Blimp" (uncredited)
Arthur Tripp III – drums and percussion on "The Blimp" (uncredited)

Don Preston – piano on "The Blimp" (uncredited)

Ian Underwood – alto saxophone on "The Blimp" (uncredited/inaudible)

Bunk Gardner – tenor saxophone on "The Blimp" (uncredited/inaudible)

Buzz Gardner – trumpet on "The Blimp" (uncredited/inaudible)

Frank Zappa – speaking voice on "Pena" and "The Blimp" (uncredited); engineer (uncredited); producer
Richard "Dick" Kunc – speaking voice on "She's Too Much for My Mirror" (uncredited); engineer

Cal Schenkel – album design

Ed Caraeff and Cal Schenkel – photography

Trout Mask Replica is the 3rd studio album by the American rock band Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band, released as a double album on June 16, 1969, by Straight Records. The music was composed by Captain Beefheart (aka Don Van Vliet) and arranged by drummer John "Drumbo" French. Combining elements of R&B, garage rock, and blues with free jazz, avant-garde approaches, and other genres of American music, the album is regarded as an important work of experimental music and art rock.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Contact us for any problem