Friday, June 11, 2021

James Brown - Gettin' Down to It (1969)

James Brown - Gettin' Down to It (1969)

Tracklist front / back album covers

James Brown - Gettin' Down to It

Side one

1. "Sunny" (Marva Whitney, vocals)   3:17

2. "That's Life"   4:29

3. "Strangers in the Night"   3:26

4. "Willow Weep for Me"   4:39

5. "Cold Sweat"   5:02

6. "There Was a Time" (Kenny Poole and Lee Garrett, guitar)   2:58

Side two

1. "Chicago"   2:51

2. "(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons"   7:40

3. "Time After Time"   4:48

4. "All the Way"   3:40

5. "It Had to Be You"   2:42

6. "Uncle" (Kenny Poole, guitar)   2:35

James Brown Band Members / Musicians

James Brown – vocals and producer

Dee Felice Trio:

Frank Vincent – piano

Lee Tucker – bass

Dee Felice – drums

Gettin' Down to It is the 24th studio album by American musician James Brown. The album was released in May 1969, by King Records. A pet project of Brown's, the album consists of standards sung in the jazz ballad style of Frank Sinatra, whom Brown greatly admired. In addition, two of Brown's own compositions, "Cold Sweat" and an instrumental version of "There Was a Time", are included, reinterpreted in the same style.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Contact us for any problem