Friday, October 1, 2021

The Idle Race - The Birthday Party (1968)

The Idle Race - The Birthday Party (1968)

Tracklist front / back album covers
download rar

"Skeleton and the Roundabout" – 2:26
"Happy Birthday" (Patty Hill, Mildred J. Hill) – 0:23
"The Birthday" – 3:00
"I Like My Toys" – 2:12
"Morning Sunshine" – 1:48
"Follow Me, Follow" – 2:48
"Sitting in My Tree" – 1:59 (mono)
"On With the Show" – 2:22
"Lucky Man" – 2:38
"(Don't Put Your Boys in the Army) Mrs. Ward" – 2:14
"Pie in the Sky" (Dave Pritchard) – 2:23
"The Lady Who Said She Could Fly" – 2:22
"End of the Road" – 2:09

Idle Race Band Members / Musicians
Jeff Lynne - vocals, guitar, piano
Dave Pritchard - guitar, vocals
Greg Masters - bass guitar, vocals
Roger Spencer - drums, vocals

The Birthday Party was the 1st album by The Idle Race, a psychedelic pop band, released in 1968.

This quasi-concept album was the first to be composed almost entirely of songs by a young Birmingham guitarist/singer named Jeff Lynne. The LP came in a gatefold sleeve, the first of its kind since the Beatles' Sgt Pepper and the Rolling Stones' Their Satanic Majesties Request albums. The inside sleeve art included a mock birthday feast attended by many British celebrities, including most of the Radio 1 disc jockeys, the Beatles, the Duke of Windsor, actor Warren Mitchell in his role as Alf Garnett, and group leader Jeff Lynne as an eight-year-old schoolboy. In the U.S. the cover art was different with a rather psychedelic-styled paisley pattern behind the band.

The Idle Race were a British rock group from Birmingham in the late 1960s and early 1970s who had a cult following but never enjoyed mass commercial success. In addition to being the springboard for Jeff Lynne, the band holds a place of significance in British Midlands' pop-rock history as a link between The Move, Electric Light Orchestra, the Steve Gibbons Band and Mike Sheridan & The Nightriders.

The Idle Race Band Members / Musicians
Dave Pritchard – rhythm guitar, vocals (1959–1971)
Roger Spencer – drums, vocals (1959–1971)
Al Johnson – lead guitar (1959–1964)
Brian Cope – bass guitar (1959–1963)
Billy King – vocals (1959–1962)
Mike Sheridan – vocals (1962–1966)
Greg Masters – bass guitar, vocals (1963–1972)
Roy Wood – lead guitar, vocals (1964–1966)
Johnny Mann – lead guitar (1966)
Jeff Lynne – lead guitar, keyboards, vocals (1966–1970)
Mike Hopkins – lead guitar, vocals (1970–1971)
Dave Walker – vocals (1970–1971)
Dave Carroll – guitar (1971–1972)
Bob Lamb – drums (1971–1972)
Bob Wilson – guitar (1971–1972)
Steve Gibbons – vocals (1971–1972)
Bob Griffin – bass guitar (1972)
Trevor Burton – bass guitar (1972)

The Idle Race Discography Full
1968 The Birthday Party
1969 Idle Race
1971 Time Is

Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

For any problem contact here


Email *

Message *

Music Blogs


Blog Archive