Wednesday, March 11, 2020

10,000 Maniacs - Secrets of the I Ching (1983)

 10,000 Maniacs - Secrets of the I Ching - Released Year 1983

Tracklist front / back album covers
10,000 Maniacs - Secrets of the I Ching
download rar

All songs written by John Lombardo and Natalie Merchant, except where indicated

"Grey Victory" (John Lombardo/Robert Buck/Natalie Merchant) – 2:59
"Poor de Chirico" – 3:09
"Death of Manolete" – 3:52
"Tension" – 3:30
"Daktari" – 4:10
"Pit Viper" (Steven Gustafson/Natalie Merchant) – 3:51
"Katrina's Fair" (Robert Buck/Natalie Merchant) – 2:57
"The Latin One" – 2:59
"National Education Week" (Dennis Drew/Natalie Merchant) – 2:47
"My Mother the War" (John Lombardo/Michael Walsh/Natalie Merchant) – 3:31

The above track listing is for the original Mark Records pressing for Christian Burial Music, the band's own label. Subsequent editions of this album are missing "National Education Week".

Secrets of the I Ching is the first full length album by 10,000 Maniacs (following their 1982 EP release), released in 1983 by Christian Burial Music, the band's own label. The album was recorded at SUNY Fredonia with only 500 copies made. This is also the first of their recordings with the new and permanent drummer Jerome Augustyniak. Rerecorded versions of the songs "Tension" (as "Tension Makes a Tangle"), "Grey Victory", "Daktari" and "My Mother the War" appeared on their 1985 album The Wishing Chair. The song "Tension" is itself a re-recording of a song that initially appeared on the band's debut EP, Human Conflict Number Five.

All the tracks on this LP, in remixed, remastered and resequenced form, appear as part of the 10,000 Maniacs compilation CD Hope Chest: The Fredonia Recordings 1982-1983.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *