Friday, June 18, 2021

Captain Beefheart - Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller) (1978)

Captain Beefheart - Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller) (1978)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Captain Beefheart - Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller)

Side one

1. "The Floppy Boot Stomp"   3:51

2. "Tropical Hot Dog Night"   4:49

3. "Ice Rose"   3:38

4. "Harry Irene"   3:43

5. "You Know You're a Man"   3:14

6. "Bat Chain Puller"   5:27

Side two

7. "When I See Mommy I Feel Like a Mummy"   5:04

8. "Owed t' Alex"   4:07

9. "Candle Mambo"   3:24

10. "Love Lies"   5:03

11. "Suction Prints"   4:25

12. "Apes-Ma"   0:40

Captain Beefheart Band Members / Musicians

Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) – vocals, harmonica, soprano sax, whistling

Bruce Lambourne Fowler – trombone, air bass

Jeff Moris Tepper – slide guitar, guitar, spell guitar

Eric Drew Feldman – synthesizer, Rhodes piano, grand piano, bass

Robert Arthur Williams – drums, percussion

Richard Redus – slide guitar, bottleneck guitar, guitar, accordion, fretless bass

Art Tripp III – marimba, additional percussion

Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller) is the 10th studio album by American rock band Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band, released in October 1978 by Warner Bros. Records. The album emerged from production difficulties surrounding Bat Chain Puller, an album Captain Beefheart recorded for DiscReet and Virgin Records in 1976. DiscReet co-founders Herb Cohen and Frank Zappa feuded over the production of the album, because Cohen funded the production with Zappa's royalty checks. Captain Beefheart recorded a new album titled Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller) due to Zappa withholding the master tapes of the original Bat Chain Puller album.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Contact us for any problem