Tuesday, November 9, 2021

New Riders of the Purple Sage - Where I Come From (2009)

New Riders of the Purple Sage - Where I Come From (2009)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Where I Come From

"Where I Come From" (David Nelson, Robert Hunter) – 7:40

"Big Six" (Nelson, Hunter) – 4:16

"Barracuda Moon" (Nelson, Hunter) – 7:56

"Higher" (Johnny Markowski, Bobby Driscoll) – 6:00

"Down the Middle" (Nelson, Hunter) – 5:33

"Them Old Minglewood Blues" (traditional, arranged by Nelson) – 5:01

"Something in the Air Tonight" (Michael Falzarano) – 3:56

"Olivia Rose" (Ronnie Penque) – 5:23

"Blues Barrel" (Nelson, Hunter) – 5:58

"Ghost Train Blues" (Nelson, Hunter) – 10:36

"Carl Perkins Wears the Crown" (Falzarano) – 4:33

"Rockin' with Nona" (Nelson, Hunter) – 6:57
Where I Come From: Radio Mixes & Live Bonus

"Where I Come From (Nelson, Hunter) – 4:20 – radio mix

"Barracuda Moon" (Nelson, Hunter) – 4:09 – radio mix

"Higher" (Markowski, Driscoll) – 4:16 – radio mix

"Pour House Jelly" with Professor Louie (New Riders of the Purple Sage) – 4:30 – sound check at The Pour House, 9/18/07

"Let It Grow" with Professor Louie (Falzarano) – 12:33 – sound check at Shawnee Cave, 9/30/06

"Louisiana Lady" (John Dawson) – 5:04 – recorded live at Turkey Trot, 7/30/06

"Peggy-O" (traditional, arranged by Nelson) – 6:12 – recorded live at Turkey Trot, 7/30/06

"Truck Driving Man" (Buck Owens) – 6:23 – recorded live at Turkey Trot, 7/30/06

"Dirty Business" (Dawson) – 18:08 – recorded live at Turkey Trot, 7/30/06

New Riders of the Purple Sage Band Members / Musicians
David Nelson – guitar, vocals
Buddy Cage – pedal steel guitar
Michael Falzarano – guitar, vocals
Ronnie Penque – bass, vocals
Johnny Markowski – drums, vocals
Additional musicians
Mookie Siegel – keyboards on tracks 4, 5, 8, 11, and 12
Christian Cassan – percussion on tracks 2, 4, 5, 7, and 9

Michael Falzarano – producer
Stanley Mouse – cover illustration
Kevin Morgan – band illustration and layout
Christian Cassan and Michael Falzarano – mixing
Ed Littman – mastering
Captain Toast – road manager
ScareKrow and LT – crew

Where I Come From is the 14th studio album by the American country rock band the New Riders of the Purple Sage. It was recorded in 2008, and released on the Woodstock Records label on June 2, 2009.

Following Wanted: Live at Turkey Trot, Where I Come From was the second album recorded by the New Riders after they re-formed in 2005, with band co-founder David Nelson on guitar, long-time member Buddy Cage on pedal steel guitar, Hot Tuna alumnus Michael Falzarano on guitar, Ronnie Penque on bass, and Johnny Markowski on drums. It was the band's first studio album in 17 years, since 1992's Midnight Moonlight.

The music for seven of the songs on the album was written by David Nelson, with lyrics by Robert Hunter, who wrote the lyrics for many Grateful Dead songs.[4][5] Four of the other five songs were also written by current band members. In 2010, a version of the song "Olivia Rose", written by Ronnie Penque, appeared on his album Only Road Home.

The cover of Where I Come From was illustrated by Stanley Mouse, an artist known for his many concert posters and album covers.

Some copies of the album were accompanied by a bonus disc called Where I Come From: Radio Mixes & Live Bonus.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Download Full Covers Pack Collection / 6322 Cover Files (jpg) / 2.09GB for 0,99€ via PayPal

Contact us for any problem


Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *