Sunday, January 9, 2022

Jefferson Starship - Dragon Fly (1974)

Jefferson Starship - Dragon Fly (1974)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Side one
1. "Ride the Tiger"   5:11
2. "That’s for Sure"   4:58
3. "Be Young You"   3:49
4. "Caroline"   7:29

Side two
5. "Devil's Den"   4:03
6. "Come to Life"   3:46
7. "All Fly Away"   5:25
8. "Hyperdrive"   7:44

Jefferson Starship Band Members / Musicians

Grace Slick – lead (3, 5, 8) and backing vocals; piano (3)

Paul Kantner – lead (1, 7) and backing vocals, rhythm guitar

David Freiberg – lead (2, 6) and backing vocals, keyboards (1, 2, 4), piano (5, 6), organ (7, 8), bass (2)

Papa John Creach – electric violin (1, 2, 5-8)

Craig Chaquico – lead guitar

Pete Sears – bass (1, 3-8), piano (2, 4, 7 ,8), harpsichord (4, 8), backing vocals

John Barbata – drums, percussion

Marty Balin – lead vocals (4)

Jefferson Starship – producer
Larry Cox – producer, engineer
Pat Ieraci (Maurice) – production coordinator
Steve Mantoani – recordist
Paul Dowell – amp consultant
Bill Thompson – manager
Acy Lehman, Frank Mulvey – art directors
Peter Lloyd – illustration
Recorded and Mixed at Wally Heider's, San Francisco

Dragon Fly is the debut album by Jefferson Starship, released on Grunt Records in 1974. It peaked at No. 11 on the Billboard 200, and has been certified a gold album. Credited to Grace Slick, Paul Kantner, and Jefferson Starship, the band itself was a turning point after a series of four albums centering on the partnership of Kantner and Slick during the disintegration of Jefferson Airplane through the early 1970s.

The album received its RIAA gold certification within six months, selling as well as most Jefferson Airplane albums. Two singles were released from the album: "Ride the Tiger" reached #84 on the Billboard Hot 100; the follow-up single "Caroline" failed to chart. Singer Marty Balin, who had not appeared on an Airplane or Airplane-offshoot album since Volunteers in 1969, would write and sing on the single "Caroline." He would join Jefferson Starship soon after, and remain with the band until 1978. The song "Hyperdrive" was used in the opening ceremonies of the 1976 World Science Fiction Convention, MidAmeriCon, in Kansas City, Missouri.

Jefferson Starship is an American rock band from San Francisco, California, formed in 1974 by a group of musicians including former members of Jefferson Airplane. Between 1974 and 1984, they released eight gold or platinum selling studio albums, and one gold selling compilation. The album Red Octopus went double-platinum, reaching No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart in 1975. The band went through several major changes in personnel and genres through the years while retaining the Jefferson Starship name. The band name was retired in 1984, but it was picked up again in 1992 by a revival of the group led by Paul Kantner, which has continued since his death in 2016.

Jefferson Starship Band Members / Musicians

David Freiberg – vocals, acoustic guitar (1974–1984, 2005–present)

Donny Baldwin – drums, percussion, backing vocals (1982–1984, 2008–present)

Chris Smith – keyboards, bass (1998–present)

Cathy Richardson – vocals, rhythm guitar (2008–2015, 2016–present)

Jude Gold – lead guitar, backing vocals (2012–present)

Jefferson Starship Discography Full
1974 Dragon Fly
1975 Red Octopus
1976 Spitfire
1978 Earth
1979 Freedom at Point Zero
1981 Modern Times
1982 Winds of Change
1984 Nuclear Furniture
1998 Windows of Heaven
2008 Jefferson's Tree of Liberty
2020 Mother of the Sun

Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

For any problem contact here


Email *

Message *

Music Blogs