Sunday, February 13, 2022

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians - Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars (1988)

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians - Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars (1988)

Tracklist front / back album covers

1. "What I Am"   4:54

2. "Little Miss S."   3:37

3. "Air of December"   5:54

4. "The Wheel"   3:53

5. "Love Like We Do"   3:13

6. "Circle"   3:11

7. "Beat the Time"   2:58

8. "She"   5:06

9. "Nothing"   4:49

10. "Now"   6:00

11. "Keep Coming Back"   2:42

12. "I Do" (Hidden track)   2:00

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians Band Members / Musicians

Edie Brickell - vocals

Kenny Withrow - guitar

Brad Houser - bass guitar

Brandon Aly - drums

John Bush - percussion


Robbie Blunt - guitar

Chris Whitten - drums

Paul "Wix" Wickens - keyboards

John Henry - background vocals

Both Chris Whitten and Paul "Wix" Wickens were/are members of Paul McCartney's band; Whitten from 1989-1990 and Wickens from 1989-present

Producer: Pat Moran

Engineer: Pat Moran

Mastering: George Marino

Design: Terry Robertson

Cover illustration: Edie Brickell

Photography: Bob Cook

Tracks 6 & 8 published by Geffen Music-Withrow Publishing-Edie Brickell Songs

Tracks 11 & 12 published by Geffen Music-Edie Brickell Songs

All Other Tracks Published By Geffen Music-Strangemind Productions-Enlightened Kitty-Withrow Publishing-Edie Brickell Songs

Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars is the debut album by the American alternative rock band Edie Brickell & New Bohemians, released in 1988. The album went 2x platinum in the United States.

"What I Am" was the lead single and big hit from the album, reaching #7 on the Billboard Hot 100. The follow-up single, "Circle," was about strained relationships. Although described by author Brent Mann as "the perfect follow up single to 'What I Am'" and which "had 'smash' written all over it," it stalled at #48 on the Billboard Hot 100 and fared slightly better on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart, reaching #32. Another song from the album, "Little Miss S." was inspired by Edie Sedgwick and reached #38 on the Mainstream Rock chart and #14 on the Modern Rock Tracks chart.

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians is an alternative rock jam band that originated in Dallas, Texas, in the mid-1980s. The band is widely known for their 1988 hit "What I Am" from the album Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars. Their music contains elements of rock, folk, blues, and jazz. Following the 1990 release of their second album Ghost of a Dog, lead singer Edie Brickell left the band and married singer-songwriter Paul Simon. In 2006, she and the band launched a new web site and released a new album, Stranger Things.

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians Band Members / Musicians

Brandon Aly – drums

Edie Brickell – vocals, guitar

John Walter Bush – percussion

John Bradley Houser – bass guitar, woodwinds

Kenneth Neil Withrow – guitar

Carter Albrecht – keyboards, electric guitar, harmonica, vocals (died 2007)

Wes Burt-Martin – guitar

Matt Chamberlain – drums

Eric Presswood – guitar

Chris Wheatley – keyboards

Chris Whitten – drums

Paul "Wix" Wickens – keyboards

Edie Brickell & New Bohemians Discography Full

1988 Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars

1990 Ghost of a Dog

1999 The Live Montauk Sessions

2006 Stranger Things

2018 Rocket

2021 Hunter and the Dog Star

Album / Artist / Song Search

Download Free Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *