Monday, May 16, 2022

Uniklubi - Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa (2004)

Uniklubi - Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa (2004)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Uniklubi is a Finnish alternative rock band. It was founded in 1999. The band became well known for its hit Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa in 2004. The band's lyrics are in the Finnish language. All members are from the town of Hämeenkyrö, except the bassist Teemu Rajamäki, who is from Ikaalinen. Originally they called themselves 'Pincenez' but they did not get much positive feedback about it, so they renamed their band 'Uniklubi', a Finnish word that means 'Dream Club'.

The band was founded in 1999 by Jussi and Pasi. The name "Uniklubi" did not exist at the time; they went by the name Pincenez (a French term for a type of glasses without). The first songs they played were covers of their favorite bands, in English. However, as they began writing their own songs, Jussi felt more confident with his mother tongue, Finnish. They eventually changed the name to Uniklubi ("dream club"), which had no real significance for them.

By playing their first gigs, they earned some money they used to go into studio and record their first demo-tapes.

While recording the first album "Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa" (Love and Barbed-Wire) the drummer left the band. Antti Matikainen replaced him and has been part of Uniklubi ever since.

The first single was "Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa". It was voted by YleX as the most popular song of the year. The album got into the charts (Top 4) and Uniklubi got their first important award: They won an Emma Award (Newcomer of the year). "Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa" reached platinum in Finland (They sold more than 30,000 copies of the album). Other releases of "Rakkautta Ja Piikkilankaa": Kylmää, Näiden Tähtien Alla and Totuus.

The second album, "Kehä" (Circle) was released on November 2 and the album entered the charts at number one. It stayed in the charts for more than 20 weeks in the Top20 and even the first release of the album "Kaikki Mitä Mä Annoin" (All that I gave) entered the charts at number one. The second release was "Kiertää Kehää" and entered the charts at number ten.

During summer 2006, the singer was diagnosed with a bump on his vocal cords, after losing his voice repeatedly during concerts. The band had to cancel a tour in Germany, which would have been their first outside Scandinavia, for Jussi to undergo throat surgery. Everything went fine, and the few gigs performed during the Christmas holidays were marked by a beautiful, new clear voice.

The band entered studios again at the beginning of 2007, and have already released their first single, "Vnus", in May, along with the track "Aurinkoni" (My Sun) as a b-side. The new album, titled "Luotisade" (Bullet Rain) was released in August 2007.

On March 4, 2009 the band released a new album titled "Syvään valoon." The first single from the album was "Polje". They later released "Kukka" as the new single.

During the summer 2010 Uniklubi had several gigs added with the unique group of musicians. They had one pianist, two violinists, altoviolinist and cellist.

On September 22, Uniklubi released their fifth studio album titled "Kultakalat" (Goldfishes). On 31 September the band started their album release tour which will lasted until the late summer of 2011.

Like many other Finnish bands, Uniklubi can easily be linked to other groups, whether by friendships or collaborations. Jussi Selo, singer for Uniklubi, has previously sung for Lovex, as well as guest backing vocals on some of Negative's tracks. More recently, he participated with backing vocals to the cover of Queen's "Too Much Love Will Kill You", interpreted by Negative's Jonne Aaron, Sir Christus and Larry Love, Jann Wilde and Rose Avenue's Jann Wilde and Dead By Gun's Christian. Ville Liimatainen, younger brother of Jonne, also contributed to the backing vocals. In Bloodpit's 2007 video "Wise Men Don't Cry", Jussi played a vengeful brother, alongside Antti Anatomy of Negative. He has also sung backing vocals on several songs for Finnish rock band, Sisu. Janne Selo previously sang for the band Bitch So Sweet, a quartet he left as Uniklubi took more of his time. He also replaced Entwine's guitarist for 5 concerts in their spring tour in Germany.

Uniklubi Band Members / Musicians

Jussi Selo (Born: January 21, 1985 in Tampere, Finland) - vocals

Janne Samuli Selo (Born: April 16, 1980) - guitars

Pasi Viitala (Born: March 6, 1983) - electronic guitar

Teemu Rajamäki - bass guitar

Antti Matikainen - drums

Teemu Rajamäki left the band on March 19, 2012. This was announced on the band's homepage.

Uniklubi Discography Full

2004 Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa

2005 Kehä

2007 Luotisade

2009 Syvään Valoon

2010 Kultakalat

2018 Tulennielijä

2020 Ajan piirtämät kasvot


2004 Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa (Love and Barbed Wire)

2004 Kylmää (Cold)

2004 Olemme Yhtä (We Are One)

2004 Totuus (The Truth)

2004 Näiden tähtien alla (Underneath These Stars)

2005 Kaikki mitä mä annoin (All That I Gave)

2005 Huomenna (Promotional Single) (Tomorrow)

2006 Kiertää Kehää (Rounding Circle)

2006 Tuhka (Promotional Single) (Ash)

2007 Vnus (Venus)

2007 Luotisade (Promotional Single) (Bulletrain)

2009 Polje (Box)

2009 Kukka (Flower)

2010 Aikasi On Nyt (Your Time Is Now)

Music videos

Rakkautta ja piikkilankaa

Kaikki mitä mä annoin




Rakkaudesta hulluuteen



Mitä vittua?

Aikasi on nyt

Maailma Puhaltaa


Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Full Covers Pack Collection 5.205 IMAGE COVER FILES / 2,09GB

For any problem contact here


Email *

Message *

Music Blogs