Monday, March 21, 2022

Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains the Same OST (1976)

Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains the Same OST (1976)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Original release

Side one

1. "Rock and Roll"   4:03

2. "Celebration Day"   3:49

3. "The Song Remains the Same"   6:00

4. "The Rain Song"   8:24

Side two

1. "Dazed and Confused"   26:53

Side three

1. "No Quarter"   12:30

2. "Stairway to Heaven"   10:58

Side four

1. "Moby Dick"   12:47

2. "Whole Lotta Love"   14:24

Total length:   99:42

2007 reissue

1. "Rock and Roll"   3:56

2. "Celebration Day"   3:37

3. "Black Dog" (with "Bring It On Home" intro)   3:46

4. "Over the Hills and Far Away"   6:11

5. "Misty Mountain Hop"   4:43

6. "Since I've Been Loving You"   8:23

7. "No Quarter#"   10:38

8. "The Song Remains the Same"   5:39

9. "The Rain Song"   8:20

10. "The Ocean"   5:13

Disc two

1. "Dazed and Confused+"   29:18

2. "Stairway to Heaven"   10:53

3. "Moby Dick#"   11:02

4. "Heartbreaker"   6:19

5. "Whole Lotta Love#"   13:51

Total length:   125:30

Led Zeppelin Band Members / Musicians

Robert Plant – vocals

Jimmy Page – guitars, Theremin

John Paul Jones – bass guitar, Fender Rhodes, Mellotron

John Bonham – drums, percussion, backing vocals

Barry Diament – mastering (original Compact Disc release)

Peter Grant – executive producer

Eddie Kramer – engineering, mixing

Bob Ludwig – remastering (2007 edition)

Jimmy Page – production

Kevin Shirley – remixing (2007 edition)

Cameron Crowe – liner notes

George Hardie – record sleeve

Hipgnosis – record sleeve

The Song Remains the Same is the live soundtrack album of the concert film of the same name by the English rock band Led Zeppelin. The soundtrack was recorded 27–29 July 1973 and released three years later on 28 September 1976 on Swan Song Records.

The recording of the album and the film took place during three nights of concerts at New York's Madison Square Garden, during the band's 1973 North American tour. All songs were recorded by Eddie Kramer using the Wally Heider Mobile Studio truck, and later mixed at Electric Lady Studios in New York and Trident Studios in London.

The sleeve design depicts a dilapidated movie house on Old Street film studios in London, where the group rehearsed for their 1973 tour.

Until the album and the film were remastered and re-released in 2007, they featured slightly different track lists:

The soundtrack album included "Celebration Day", which did not appear in the film. The album did not include several songs featured in the film, including "Black Dog", "Since I've Been Loving You", the introduction to "Heartbreaker", the instrumental "Bron-Yr-Aur" (which appeared on Physical Graffiti), and a hurdy-gurdy piece called "Autumn Lake".

In addition, some of the recordings featured on the album were of different performances from those in the film.

Some tracks recorded at Madison Square Garden were omitted from both the film and the soundtrack album: "Over the Hills and Far Away", "Misty Mountain Hop", "The Ocean", and "Thank You".

2007 reissue

The surviving band members oversaw the remixing and remastering of the original release, and The Song Remains the Same soundtrack album was reissued on CD on 20 November 2007. This coincided with the re-issue of the film, released on HD-DVD, Blu-ray and DVD. The new version of the soundtrack included six songs that were not on the original album release: "Black Dog", "Over the Hills and Far Away", "Misty Mountain Hop", "Since I've Been Loving You", "The Ocean" and "Heartbreaker", plus new liner notes by Cameron Crowe.

With the 2007 re-release of both the album and film, the songs were synchronised so that the full set-list from the concerts was available on both, with each song mixed the same way. Kevin Shirley, who worked on How The West Was Won, was involved in the mixing.

Due to legal complications, the band decided not to change the video portion of the original movie for the re-release. Instead, Shirley created an entirely new mix of the three 1973 Madison Square Garden concerts so that the audio portion of the film would better match the on-screen visuals. The audio on the new CD release was nearly identical to the soundtrack of the new DVD release. One difference was that the songs included on the CDs that were not featured in the original movie were included as bonus tracks on the DVD.

The audio mixes also differed from those found on the 2003 Led Zeppelin DVD. The most obvious example is that "Black Dog" was two minutes longer on the 2003 DVD than on the 2007 releases, two of the four verses being cut from the song.

On 29 July 2008, a four-LP edition of the 2007 re-issue, on 180 gram audiophile vinyl, was released. It was presented in a deluxe archival two-piece box with foil-stamping. It includes a 12-page oversized full-color booklet with dozens of previously unpublished stills from the film, as well as four individual jackets with new and unique artwork. A special white vinyl edition was also printed in very limited numbers. Just 200 were produced, with only 100 being made available to the public from Led Zeppelin's official website.

2018 reissue

On 7 September 2018, a newly remastered edition of The Song Remains the Same was issued in multiple formats, including a multi-disc, super deluxe boxed set, Blu-ray audio with a hi-resolution stereo and new 5.1 surround mix, 180-gram vinyl, CD, streaming and downloads, including 24-bit/96k hi-res audio files for the first time. This is based on the 2007 version of the soundtrack album and concludes the campaign of reissues of their live albums and deluxe editions of their studio albums that started in 2014.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

For any problem contact here


Email *

Message *

Music Blogs