Monday, May 2, 2022

Midnight Oil - The Makarrata Project (2020)

Midnight Oil - The Makarrata Project (2020)

Tracklist front / back album covers

1. "First Nation" (featuring Jessica Mauboy and Tasman Keith)   4:51

2. "Gadigal Land" (featuring Dan Sultan, Joel Davison, Kaleena Briggs and Bunna Lawrie)   4:45

3. "Change the Date" (featuring Gurrumul Yunupingu and Dan Sultan)   5:58

4. "Terror Australia" (featuring Alice Skye)   3:49

5. "Desert Man, Desert Woman" (featuring Frank Yamma)   3:09

6. "Wind in My Head" (Makarrata version featuring Kev Carmody and Sammy Butcher)   4:19

7. "Uluru Statement from the Heart / Come on Down" (featuring Pat Anderson, Stan Grant, Adam Goodes, Ursula Yovich and Troy Cassar-Daley)   6:40

Total length:   33:31

Midnight Oil Band Members / Musicians

Peter Garrett – lead vocals

Bones Hillman – bass guitar, vocals

Rob Hirst – drums, vocals, percussion

Jim Moginie  – guitars, keyboards, vocals

Martin Rotsey – guitars

Jessica Mauboy – lead vocals (track 1)

Tasman Keith – lead vocals (track 1)

Dan Sultan – lead vocals (tracks 2, 3), guitar (track 2)

Joel Davison – lead vocals (track 2)

Kaleena Briggs – lead vocals (track 2), backing vocals (track 3)

Bunna Lawrie – lead vocals (track 2)

Gurrumul Yunupingu – lead vocals (track 3)

Leah Flanagan – backing vocals (tracks 3, 6)

Alice Skye – lead vocals (track 4)

Frank Yamma – lead vocals (track 5)

Kev Carmody – lead vocals (track 6)

Sammy Butcher – lead vocals (track 6)

Pat Anderson – spoken word (track 7)

Stan Grant – spoken word (track 7)

Adam Goodes – spoken word (track 7)

Ursula Yovich – spoken word (track 7), backing vocals (tracks 3, 6)

Troy Cassar-Daley – spoken word, lead vocals, guitar (track 7)

Producer, mixer, recording engineer – Warne Livesey recorded at Rancom Street Studios and Oceanic Studios, Sydney

Engineer (additional) – Jim Moginie

Mastering – Emily Lazar at The Lodge, New York City

Artwork – James Bellesini

The Makarrata Project is the 12th studio album by Australian band Midnight Oil, released on 30 October 2020 by Sony Music Australia. The album is the first new material from the band since 2002's Capricornia, their first studio album to hit #1 on the ARIA Charts since 1990's Blue Sky Mining, and one of the final releases to feature bassist and backing vocalist Bones Hillman before his death in November 2020.

At the 2021 ARIA Music Awards, the album was nominated for Album of the Year, Best Group and Best Rock Album.

In a statement, Midnight Oil members said, "After centuries of struggle for recognition and justice, 2017's Uluru Statement from the Heart called for the establishment of a 'First Nations Voice' enshrined in the Australian Constitution and the establishment of a 'Makarrata Commission' to supervise agreement-making and truth-telling between governments and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. We will donate our share of any proceeds received from this release to organisations which seek to elevate the Uluru Statement from the Heart in particular and Indigenous reconciliation more broadly".

Makarrata is a Yolngu word "describing a process of conflict resolution, peacemaking and justice", or "a coming together after a struggle", and delegates said that it "captures our aspirations for a fair and truthful relationship with the people of Australia", and the Makarrata Commission would "supervise a process of agreement-making between governments and First Nations".

Frontman Peter Garrett said, "It's been 250 years since Cook landed, when Aboriginal and Islander peoples' children, land & waters were first taken away. Yet the impacts of the original dispossession are still widely felt. We urgently need to up the ante on Reconciliation generally and follow through on the ground breaking Uluru Statement. These songs are about recognising that our shared history needs settlement, and that more than ever, as the Statement From The Heart proclaims, we need to walk together to create a better future".

Midnight Oil had recorded 20 tracks with Warne Livesey producing. The Makarrata Project is a seven-track mini-album, which features collaborations with Indigenous artists and First Nations people.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Covers Rar / Zip File / Classic Rock Covers Database

Download Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

For any problem contact here


Email *

Message *

Music Blogs