Monday, April 20, 2020

Manowar - The Triumph of Steel (1992)

Manowar - The Triumph of Steel (1992)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Songs written by Joey DeMaio

1. "Achilles, Agony and Ecstasy in Eight Parts
I. Hector Storms the Wall
II. The Death of Patroclus
III. Funeral March
IV. Armor of the Gods
V. Hector's Final Hour
VI. Death Hector's Reward
VII. The Desecration of Hector's Body
A. Part 1
B. Part 2
VIII. The Glory of Achilles"
2. "Metal Warriors" 3:54
3. "Ride the Dragon" (David Shankle, DeMaio) 4:33
4. "Spirit Horse of the Cherokee" 6:02
5. "Burning" (Shankle, DeMaio) 5:10
6. "The Power of Thy Sword" 7:51
7. "The Demon's Whip" (David Shankle, DeMaio) 7:50
8. "Master of the Wind" (Shankle, DeMaio) 5:27

Total length: 69:25

The Triumph of Steel is the seventh studio album by the American heavy metal band Manowar, released in 1992. It is the only Manowar album to feature guitarist David Shankle and drummer Kenny Earl "Rhino" Edwards. Cover art by Ken Kelly. 

"Achilles, Agony and Ecstasy in Eight Parts" is the longest (28 minutes and 38 seconds) and most complex Manowar song, and probably an anticipation of a concept album that was never accomplished. Because of its Homeric content, "Achilles, Agony and Ecstasy in Eight Parts" has recently attracted the attention of a group of scholars at Bologna University in Italy. Mrs. Eleonora Cavallini, Professor in Classics, has written about this song:

Album / Artist / Song Search

Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *