Friday, June 18, 2021

Captain Beefheart - The Spotlight Kid (1972)

Captain Beefheart - The Spotlight Kid (1972)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Captain Beefheart - The Spotlight Kid

Side one

1. "I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby"   4:33

2. "White Jam"   2:55

3. "Blabber 'n Smoke"   2:46

4. "When It Blows Its Stacks"    3:40

5. "Alice in Blunderland"   3:54

Side two

6. "The Spotlight Kid"   3:21

7. "Click Clack"   3:30

8. "Grow Fins"   3:30

9. "There Ain't No Santa Claus on the Evenin' Stage"   3:11

10. "Glider"   4:34

Captain Beefheart Band Members / Musicians

Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) – vocals, harmonica, jingle bells

Drumbo (John French) – drums, percussion

Zoot Horn Rollo (Bill Harkleroad) – guitar, slide guitar

Rockette Morton (Mark Boston) – bass, guitar

Ed Marimba/Ted Cactus (Art Tripp) – drums, percussion, marimba, piano, harpsichord

Winged Eel Fingerling (Elliot Ingber) – guitar on "I’m Gonna Booglarize You, Baby" and "Alice in Blunderland"

Rhys Clark – drums on "Glider"

The Spotlight Kid is the 6th studio album by Captain Beefheart. Released in 1972, it is the only album credited solely to Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) rather than Beefheart and the Magic Band. Often cited as one of the most accessible of Beefheart's albums, it is solidly founded in the blues but also uses instruments such as marimba and jingle bells that are not typical of that genre. The incarnation of the Magic Band on this album was Bill Harkleroad and Elliot Ingber, guitars; Mark Boston, bass; John French, drums; and Art Tripp, marimba. Session drummer Rhys Clark substituted for French on one track, "Glider".

Album / Artist / Song Search

Contact us for any problem