Thursday, June 17, 2021

The Black Angels - Passover (2006)

The Black Angels - Passover (2006)

Tracklist front / back album covers

The Black Angels - Passover

"Young Men Dead" – 5:32

"The First Vietnamese War" – 3:30

"Sniper at the Gates of Heaven" – 4:16

"The Prodigal Sun" – 4:23

"Black Grease" – 4:37

"Manipulation" – 5:49

"Empire" – 5:35

"Better Off Alone" – 3:03

"Bloodhounds on My Trail" – 3:58

"Call to Arms" – 18:06

The song "Call to Arms" ends at minute 10:42. After 3 minutes and 30 seconds of silence (10:42 - 14:12), begins a hidden song: it's a cover of Jimmy Cliff's "Vietnam" with modernized lyrics referring to the Iraq War

The Black Angels Band Members / Musicians

Nate Ryan - bass, guitar

Stephanie Bailey - drums, percussion

Christian Bland - guitar, bass, vocals

Alex Maas - vocals, bass

Jennifer Raines - drone machine

Recorded and mixed by Erik Wofford at Cacophony Recording Studio (except tracks 5 & 6 by Ross Ingram at Wire Recording & Shh! Recording)

Mastered by Dave Cooley at Bionic

Graphic Design by Christian Bland & Brian Jones

Printed by Thingmakers

Passover is the debut album from psychedelic rock band The Black Angels, released in 2006.

The Black Angels are an American psychedelic rock band from Austin, Texas. Formed in May 2004, they took their name from the Velvet Underground's "The Black Angel's Death Song." They have released five studio albums and one compilation album.

The Black Angels Band Members / Musicians

Stephanie Bailey – drums, percussion

Christian Bland – guitar, drone machine/organ

Alex Maas – vocals, bass, organ/drone machine

Jake Garcia – guitar

Ramiro Verdooren – keyboards, bass, guitar

Kyle Hunt – keyboards, percussion, bass, guitar

Nate Ryan – bass, guitar, occasional drums

Jennifer Raines – drone machine, keyboards, percussion

Todd Keller – guitar

The Black Angels Discography Full

2006 Passover

2008 Directions to See a Ghost

2010 Phosphene Dream

2013 Indigo Meadow

2017 Death Song


Another Nice Pair (Light in the Attic Records, compilation of first two EPs, 2011)


The Black Angels (Light in the Attic Records, 2005)

Black Angel Exit (Light in the Attic Records, 2008)

Phosgene Nightmare (Blue Horizon, 2011)[16]

Clear Lake Forest (Blue Horizon, 2014)


"The First Vietnamese War" b/w "Nine Years" (released August 21, 2006)

"Better Off Alone" b/w "Yesterday Always Knows" (released May 28, 2007)

"Doves" b/w "Drone in G# Major" (released May 20, 2008)

"Telephone" (released August 3, 2010)

"Watch Out Boy" b/w "I'd Rather Be Lonely" (released April 21, 2012)

"Don't Play With Guns" (released January 22, 2013)

"Molly Moves My Generation" (released December 1, 2014)

"Waterloo Waltz" (released January 20, 2015)

"Currency" (released February 10, 2017)

Album / Artist / Song Search

Contact us for any problem