Monday, January 3, 2022

Laura Nyro - Christmas and the Beads of Sweat (1970)

Laura Nyro - Christmas and the Beads of Sweat (1970)

Tracklist front / back album covers

Side one

"Brown Earth" - 4:09

"When I Was a Freeport and You Were the Main Drag" - 2:42

"Blackpatch" - 3:33

"Been on a Train" - 5:49

"Up on the Roof" (Gerry Goffin, Carole King) - 3:13

Side two

"Upstairs by a Chinese Lamp" - 5:34

"Map to the Treasure" - 8:08

"Beads of Sweat" - 4:47

"Christmas in My Soul" - 7:00

Laura Nyro Band Members / Musicians

Laura Nyro – piano, vocals, arrangements

Additional musicians on side one

Barry Beckett – vibraphone

Felix Cavaliere – organ, bells, producer

Roger Hawkins – drums

Eddie Hinton – electric guitar

David Hood – bass

Jack Jennings – percussion

Stuart Scharf – acoustic guitar

The album credits these musicians but does not indicate which tracks they played on

Duane Allman – guitar

Richard Davis – bass

Alice Coltrane – harp

Dino Danelli – drums

Cornell Dupree – electric guitar

Joe Farrell – woodwinds

Ashod Garabedian – oud

Ralph MacDonald – percussion

Chuck Rainey – bass

Michael Szittai – cimbalin

Arif Mardin – arrangements, conductor, producer

Roy Segal – engineer

Tim Geelan – engineer

Jerry Lee Smith – assistant engineer

Doug Pomeroy – assistant engineer

Beth O'Brien – cover portrait

Christmas and the Beads of Sweat is the 4th album by New York-born singer, songwriter, and pianist Laura Nyro. The album was released on the Columbia Records label in November 1970 after Nyro had recorded it in the early summer with producers Felix Cavaliere and Arif Mardin. Whilst Nyro had handed over production reins, she was still in control of the project and co-arranged her compositions.

Album / Artist / Song Search

Download Free Full Covers Pack Collection 12.052 IMAGE COVER FILES / 4,09GB

Blog Archive

Music Blogs


Contact Form


Email *

Message *